boyfriend

the friend zone

As mentioned earlier, I am constantly trying to embrace being single in the city. But in a place thats teeming with attractive, promising young men, I frequently find myself frustrated that none of them want to date me.

I recently read an article about how the “hook up culture” has killed the possibility of having a relationship in college. The thing is, I would love to have a boyfriend, but due to factors outside of my control, it’s not possible at the moment. I was thrilled that at the first college party I went to, a cute senior was flirting with me, a naive, somewhat sheltered freshman. He made very clear his intentions of taking me home for one night (and one night only), something I wasn’t interested in. For my whole life, I’ve tried to become the best person I can, so I believe I deserve the best treatment, especially from guys.

The inspiration for this post comes from my first experience of being “friendzoned” by a guy I thought I could see myself with. It was a little rough, hearing from someone that he’s not romantically interested in you, but it’s really not a huge deal to me. Honestly, every girl knows that a guy saying “let’s just be friends” translates to “you’re not hot enough/we want different things/I’m just not that into you.” And it’s fine, really.

I continue to believe that being smart, kind, and funny will gain me the greatest success in life, and I try not to worry what others think of me. So here I am, pursuing higher education, getting good grades, being nice to people, and staying single.

IMG_6012 - Version 2

Standard

3 thoughts on “the friend zone

  1. Pingback: i tried every dating site so you don’t have to | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

