Uncategorized

a question of home

After spending two short weeks in my childhood home of Newburyport, Massachusetts, I am thrilled to be back in my favorite city. Don’t get me wrong, I love being home, but Newburyport is an extremely small town and I become bored very quickly and easily. It is a quintessential New England town, complete with brick sidewalks, a sailboat-filled waterfront, and cute coffee shops. It was the perfect place to grow up, and when the weather cooperates, it is a wonderful vacation spot.

IMG_5782

sunset over the newburyport waterfront

A lot of people were surprised when I made the jump to go to college in New York. Many of my high school peers went to local schools, and my friends who went further away were still at small-town colleges. Some family friends and teachers were confused by my decision, shocked that I could feel as at home in the city as I do. My dad grew up in the Bronx and since my family made countless weekend trips to NYC while I was growing up, it didn’t really feel outside of my comfort zone. A part of me had always known I would end up in New York, one way or another.

Image

excited to be living in close proximity to central park

Regardless, for the next month, I will be in the city which has stolen my heart. I took advantage of Fordham’s other campus at Lincoln Center on the Upper West Side, where I am taking summer classes and simply enjoying life in the heart of the city.

Image

the view from my summer apartment

 

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs as much in five minutes as in five years.”

– Tom Wolfe

Standard

One thought on “a question of home

  1. Pingback: pin-spiration: cake | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

