places

brooklyn, brooklyn

Something that made me truly fall in love with Brooklyn was my first visit to Brooklyn Flea, a market every weekend in Fort Greene and Williamsburg. I immediately loved this less-glamorized borough of NYC; especially in these two neighborhoods, there is an influx of young people, unique shops, and independent eateries, and it is overall much quieter than Manhattan.

10441177_10152482105538685_7090361417177605366_n

The flea market operates in conjunction with Smorgasbord, a small food festival, so there are numerous places offering food you never even dreamed of. On my most recent trip, I tried asiadog, a stand that serves varieties of hot dogs with various Asian-inspired toppings. Summertime always brings out a craving for hot dogs, something not easily fulfilled since I no longer eat meat. Thankfully, they had a veggie dog offering, and I elected to have it served with mango salsa, Sriracha, and crushed peanuts. I kid you not, I was dreaming about that hot dog all day.

1506019_10152482105753685_3339576872312506326_n

Brooklyn Flea attracts an interesting crowd of people; small children run around eating organic popsicles, artists sell their goods, and people with money to burn look for one-of-a-kind decor. I can’t really afford anything besides snacks on a college student budget, but I love strolling through the stalls and browsing the offerings.

1382057_10152482105583685_5319221433552913002_n

Standard

2 thoughts on “brooklyn, brooklyn

  1. Hi, I’m sending you this note because you’re a follower on my blog. I’ve ended my blog, The Siren’s Tale + started a new blog named: Belong With Wildflowers. I’d love to have you follow my new blog as well, please stop on over for a visit: http://belongwithwildflowers.com 🙂

    You can follow my new blog through email subscription, RSS, Bloglovin’, or any other blog reader. Hope you’re having a great week! –Caitlin

    Like

  2. Pingback: pin-spiration: dreamy bedrooms | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

