Uncategorized

gimme a break

The other day, I was scrolling through Tumblr and saw a picture of a bowl of broken apart Kit-Kat bars. Without warning, tears welled up in my eyes and I was reminded of my childhood, where long after I discovered that I preferred the taste of other candies, I would always say Kit-Kats were my favorite. This is undeniably because one of my earliest memories (no product placement intended) is sharing a Kit-Kat with my dad. He sang the trademark song, showing me how to break the candy bar in half. I was upset at first that he had broken the pristine chocolate bar, but was quickly delighted after learning that this is their purpose.

Perhaps its the combination of recent crappy dates, a massive amount of schoolwork, and a lack of funds that have me feeling sappy over mediocre candy bars and conflicted about getting older. I love being a college student, because I get all the best parts of being an adult without any of the responsibility: I don’t have to live with my parents, I don’t have a mortgage, I can sleep as late as I want (most of the time), and I can party whenever I want. It is absolutely unreal to me that I will be graduating in less than 2 years. Though college was a tough adjustment, I love school, I love my friends, and (perhaps most of all) I love New York.

satcfriendships2Someday, in the not-so-distant future, I am going to have to pay rent! I am going to have to set up WiFi in my apartment and fill out tax forms. I fear this upcoming part of my life not because I am irresponsible, but because I am nostalgic. I’m sad that the days of my dad filling out my FAFSA and dealing with my student loan paperwork will come to an end.

Though growing older is inevitable, I intend to make the most of it because I refuse to be boring. I count my blessings daily, eternally grateful for the magical city I call home, my ridiculously supportive family, and the beautiful people I call my friends. And even though I’m 2 decades old, it still doesn’t take more than a Kit-Kat bar to put a smile on my face.

Standard

One thought on “gimme a break

  1. Pingback: how to celebrate v-day when you’re low key happy to be single | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

