Uncategorized

no ragrets

Stress. Not something I’m skilled at handling, and something I avoid at all costs. I meditate daily, eat well, and try not to procrastinate to avoid stressful situations, but this semester of college has been the most trying so far. I was toying with the idea of changing my career path at the beginning of the semester, a decision that has proven detrimental to both my GPA and mental health.

The only time in my life I was super stressed out was my senior year of high school, when I was dealing with college applications and receiving admission decisions–a nerve-wracking process for anyone. And yes, my first two years of college were challenging, but manageable; even in courses I didn’t enjoy, I managed to get a decent grade without pulling all-nighters and/or ingesting large amounts of caffeine.

I have never been a particularly studious or devoted student. I love learning, but am not a fan of routine. Never have been, probably never will be. My life does not revolve 100% around school (sorry, mom and dad), and until this semester I had been able to balance things pretty well. Of course, I do my homework on time and go to class, but I also go to the gym, go to brunch, go to clubs, go on dates….because these are components of having a life. 

The college experience I desire does not contain panicked, 3am phone calls to my mother, getting a new pimple because I’m so stressed out, or feeling guilty for going out with friends instead of studying. College is about the transition from youth to adulthood, and there is nothing I would regret more than spending these sacred four years doing nothing but studying-especially since I get to spend them in the greatest city in the world.

More coffee, please.

More coffee, please.

Standard

One thought on “no ragrets

  1. Pingback: new year, same me | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

