Uncategorized

21

Well, here it is. Finally. In a few short hours, I will reach 21 years of age, a milestone of young adulthood, yet I feel no different than I did on my twentieth birthday, nor my nineteenth. On my 18th birthday, which is supposed to mark adulthood, I registered to vote and bought a scratch ticket (didn’t win anything, obviously). Last year, I hated turning 20 because my age no longer carried the naiveté of a teenager, yet I still couldn’t legally buy a bottle of champagne. And tomorrow I will be 21, an insignificant birthday here in Amsterdam where the drinking age is 18.

Anyway, I thought I would share with you 21 things I have learned in my humble 21 years of life. There are still many places to travel and countless adventures to be had, but I could not be any more blessed. HBD 2 me.

1. Nobody will ever love you as much as your parents do.

DSC_0159

2. Small talk is a waste of time.

3. So is straightening your hair.

4. When in doubt, have a cup of coffee.

5. People who don’t laugh at your jokes aren’t your friends.

6. Make friends with the bartender.

7. Men’s deodorant > women’s deodorant.

8. The only guy you can trust is your dad. IMG_2562

9. It’s impossible to wash cigarette smoke out of your hair.

10. There’s a reason why three-buck-chuck is only $3.

11. Don’t bleach your hair when you’re 13.

12. Don’t bleach your hair when you’re 20.

13. Money doesn’t make the world go round.

14. ALWAYS have dessert.

grid-cell-1226-1410961709-6

15. Instagram as much as you want.

16. Meditate everyday.

17. Haircuts aren’t worth crying about.

18. Neither are boys.

tumblr_mwhvjrAzXw1sno0jfo1_500

19. You can never have enough shoes. (Sorry, mom)

20. Find the right shade of lipstick.

21. There is no better friend than a sister.

IMG_2597

Standard

One thought on “21

  1. Pingback: top 15 of ’15 | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

