places, Uncategorized

death by apartment hunting

I think it was Carrie Bradshaw who said that everyone in New York is always looking for either a job, a boyfriend, or an apartment. Or something like that. You all know I’ve been looking for a boyfriend, but my most recent crisis is finding aย new place to live. The lease is up on my Bronx college apartment next month, so I’m frantically searching for something that lives up to my (way too high) expectations. After four years of living with roommates, I was hoping to be able to find an affordable studio apartment so I could fly solo, but that doesn’t seem to be happening. How TF did Carrie do it?

carrie.gif

Most of my classmates are from the tri-state area,ย so they’re able to move back home and commute to NYC. Unfortunately, I don’t have that option–this is the only time I’ll ever regretย not being from New Jersey. To make matters worse, many of the places I’ve found are only available for the rest of the summer, and since I need a July move-in date, I’m feeling pretty screwed. And what is with people having cats? I’m super allergic (plus terrified of litter boxes), and every other apartment listing on Craigslist says “must love cats.” If it’s not a cat, it’s a fourth floor walk-up. Or a $100 credit check. Or a 15% broker fee.

carrie2.gif

Like, I’ve given up on having an exposed brick wall and a walk-in closet–but why is it so difficult to find a room big enough for my twin-sized bed and bureau without borrowing money from my parents? If you have any tips or need a roommate (I cook! I bake! I make great cocktails! I always have wine!) hit me up ASAP.

carrie3.gif

Standard

4 thoughts on “death by apartment hunting

  1. Pingback: what to do in NYC when it’s 96 degrees | new york is my boyfriend

  2. Pingback: pin-spiration: cake | new york is my boyfriend

  3. Pingback: pin-spiration: kitchen goals | new york is my boyfriend

  4. Pingback: the biggest thing NYC ruined for me | new york is my boyfriend

Leave a Reply

